
Chapter 5: Employment, The Legal Rights of Women in Vermont          Page:   1 
Vermont Commission on Women     women.vermont.gov      800-881-1561 

This chapter includes information about: 
Wages 
Flexible Working Arrangements 
Parental, Medical, Earned Sick Leave, and Other Types of Work Leave 
Workplace Health and Hygiene 
Drug Testing 
Unemployment Compensation 
Workers’ Compensation 
Discrimination and Harassment 

Sex or Gender Discrimination 
Questions Employers May Ask 
Pay Discrimination 
Sexual Harassment 
Pregnancy Discrimination 
Nursing Mothers 
Other Forms of Employment Discrimination 
Disability 
Reasonable Accommodation 
Retaliation and Whistleblower Protection 
Polygraph Protection 

Labor Trafficking 

Workers have many state and federal legal rights that are relevant to various stages in 
employment. These include discrimination, harassment, parental and family leave, 
earned sick time, pregnancy and breastfeeding, drug testing, minimum wage, overtime, 
military and National Guard duty, unemployment compensation, workers’ 
compensation, labor trafficking as well as others.  

In general, Vermont law applies to more employers than federal law does. If you suspect 
discrimination in the workplace, contact the Civil Rights Division of the Vermont 
Attorney General’s Office. If you are a state employee, contact the Vermont Human 
Rights Commission.  (See VCW’s Resource Directory – Employment section for contact 
information.) 

Wages 

Minimum Wage 

The Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), and the Vermont Minimum 
Wage Act, set the minimum hourly wage rates for all “covered employees.” 
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Covered employees are all individuals employed or permitted to work by an employer 
except the following: casual baby sitters and companions for the aged and infirm; 
executive, administrative, and professional employees; outside sales people; employees 
of certain small, local retail or service establishments; and some agricultural workers. 

Tipped Minimum Wage 

If you work in a hotel, motel, tourist place or restaurant and customarily 
and regularly receive more than $120 per month in tips for direct and 
personal customer service you may be considered a tipped employee. 
Examples of tipped employees include wait staff, bartenders, housekeepers, counter 
servers and bellhops. 

The basic hourly wage for tipped employees in Vermont for 2017 is $5.00. The tipped 
worker’s total earnings from wages and tips during a pay period must equal or be larger 
than the minimum wage ($10.00 in 2017). If the combined amount of the basic wage 
and tips does not meet that requirement, the employer must make up the difference. 

Other Wage Regulations 

Annual increases in both the state minimum and tipped minimum wage rate are based 
on increases in the August Consumer Price Index (CPI) or five percent, whichever is 
smaller. Vermont law does not allow the minimum wage to go down. 

The minimum hourly rate for all covered employees for 2017 is 10.00. The 
wage will increase to $10.50, effective 01/01/2018.  You should check with the Vermont 
Department of Labor and Industry to find out if the state or federal rates have been 
changed by the time you consult this guide. 

Under certain conditions, lower rates may be paid to learners, workers with 
disabilities, and students. A learning wage of 85% of minimum wage may be paid 
for a total of 240 hours only and the person must be 20 years old or younger. This does 
not include the hotel, motel, tourist place, or restaurant industry. Only retail, wholesale, 
and service establishments are covered. 

Both federal and state laws permit lodging, board or other facilities provided by an 
employer to be considered as a part of wages. 

Overtime Pay 

Many covered workers are entitled to one and a half times their regular rate 
of pay when they work more than 40 hours per week.  

Vermont law exempts from this overtime requirement employees of: 

• retail or service establishments;
• hotels, motels or restaurants;
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• the state and political subdivisions of the state; 
• certain amusement or recreational establishments; 
• certain employees engaged in transportation. 
 
Your employer must pay you overtime wages for any time over 40 hours in a work week 
and cannot require you to take compensatory time or time off at a later time instead. 
 
If your 40 hours includes working on the weekend, this “weekend work” is not entitled 
to overtime pay. Neither federal nor state law requires time-and-a-half pay for weekends 
or holiday work or, generally, for daily overtime, if these are part of your basic 40 hours. 
 
Wage Supplements/Benefits 
 
An employer is not required to provide you with paid or unpaid holidays (such as 
Memorial Day or Thanksgiving), paid or unpaid sick leave (except as provided by state 
and federal parental and family leave laws), paid or unpaid vacation time or severance 
pay when you leave the business. However, if your employer has given you a written 
agreement in the form of an employee handbook, memorandum, or correspondence, 
etc., providing for vacation time, sick leave, holidays and/or severance pay, then the 
employer must give you those benefits. 
 
In the case where benefits and/or wage supplements are offered in a collective 
bargaining agreement (union contract), you should contact your union representative. 
 
If you have concerns about unpaid retirement or profit sharing plans, you should 
contact the Employee Benefits Security Administration Division of the U.S. Department 
of Labor. 
 
Termination and Severance Pay 
 
Vermont is considered an “employment at will” state. You can be terminated 
from your job for any reason as long as you are over 18 and the termination 
was not due to your being a member of a “protected class” as described in 
the discrimination section of this chapter, e.g. race, color, national origin, 
religion, sex, age or mental or physical disability. 
 
It is also unlawful to retaliate or discriminate against employees or applicants that have 
alleged employment discrimination. 
 
Vermont law also prohibits discrimination based on sexual orientation, HIV status, and 
place of birth. If you feel you have been discharged due to discrimination, you should 
contact the Vermont Attorney General's office, Civil Rights Division. 
 
As noted in the previous section, the law does not require discharge notices or severance 
pay (pay given in place of notice). However, if your Vermont employer has offered 
vacation, sick, or severance pay to you, in writing, Vermont law will help you receive 
these “wage supplements.” 
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Addressing Violations of Minimum Wage and Overtime Law 
 
For help with addressing violations of minimum wage and overtime law violations, you 
can: 
 
• consult with a private attorney; 
• contact the Vermont Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division; 
• contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division. 
 
For contact information and other resources, see VCW’s Resource Directory – 
Employment section. 
 
Flexible Working Arrangements 
 
Vermont employees have the right to request flexible working 
arrangements and employers must discuss and consider these requests. 
 
The law defines flexible working arrangements as “intermediate or long-term changes in 
the employee’s regular working arrangements, including changes in the number of days 
or hours worked, changes in the time the employee arrives at or departs from work, 
work from home, or job-sharing.” This law applies to all Vermont employees and gives 
them the right to request a flexible working arrangement for any reason and requires 
employers to discuss and consider such requests at least twice per calendar year. 
 
The law does not change existing legal rights of employers and employees to create, 
terminate, or modify flexible working arrangements.  Instead, it provides the framework 
for meaningful dialogue about whether such arrangements would work for both parties.   
Importantly, the law also protects employees seeking flexible working arrangements 
from retaliation or discrimination. 
 
This law doesn’t apply to other forms of leave that may already be required by Vermont 
or federal law, such as parental or family leave, accommodations for disabilities, or 
workers’ compensation injuries.  The law does not diminish rights set forth in labor 
contracts.  It also doesn’t apply to routine shift scheduling or vacation requests. 
 
Employees may make the request verbally or in writing. The request should be as 
specific as possible, and employees should be prepared to discuss how the arrangement 
would still allow the employer to meet business needs. 
 
The employer must then discuss the request in good faith, a legal term meaning honestly 
and fairly.  The discussion can take place in person or over the telephone.  During the 
discussion, either party may propose alternatives to the arrangement requested.  
 
The employer has the duty to consider in good faith whether the requested arrangement 
could be granted in a manner that is not inconsistent with its business operations or its 
legal or contractual obligations.  The law identifies several factors the employer may 
consider: (1) the burden of additional costs; (2) the effect on aggregate employee 
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morale; (3) the effect on ability to meet consumer demand; (4) an inability to reorganize 
work among existing staff; (5) an inability to recruit additional staff; (6) a detrimental 
impact on business quality or performance; (7) an insufficiency of work during periods 
the employee proposes to work; and (8) planned structural changes to the business. 
 
The law requires employers to notify employees of their decision.  If the request was 
submitted in writing, the employer must state any complete or partial denial of the 
request in writing.  
 
Parental, Medical, Earned Sick, and Other Types of Work Leave 
 
Federal and State law ensures that employees have the legal right to take long-term and 
short-term leaves from their jobs. Under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and 
Vermont’s Parental and Family Leave Act, covered employers must provide leave for 
pregnancy, the birth or adoption of a child, serious illness of yourself or a family 
member, some school activities, and some medical appointments. Since federal and 
state law differ, especially in their application to employers of different 
sizes and for different kinds of leave, it is important to read the following 
descriptions carefully. 
 
Parental Leave 
 
If you have worked for your current employer for an average of at least 30 
hours a week for twelve months and your employer has at least 10 
employees who work a minimum average of 30 hours per week during a 
year, you are entitled to take a parental leave. You can take a parental leave at 
any of the following times: during your pregnancy, following the birth of your child, or 
within a year after a child up to the age of 16 years has been placed in your home for 
adoption.   
 
Family (Medical) Leave 
 
The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) allows eligible employees of covered 
employers to take unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family and medical reasons.   
 
If you have worked for your current employer for an average of at least 30 
hours a week for twelve months and your employer has at least 15 
employees who work a minimum average of 30 hours per week during a 
year, you are entitled to take a family (medical) leave. 
 
You can take a family leave for your own serious illness or the serious illness of your 
child, stepchild, ward who lives with you, foster child, parent, spouse, or your spouse’s 
parent.  The U.S. Department of Labor clarified the definition of “son and daughter” 
under the Family and Medical Leave Act to ensure that an employee who assumes the 
role of caring for a child receives parental rights to family leave regardless of the legal or 
biological relationship. A “serious illness” is defined in the Vermont law as an accident, 
disease or physical or mental condition that poses imminent danger of death, requires 
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inpatient care in a hospital or requires continuing in-home care under the direction of a 
physician. 
 
Family Leave cannot be extended past 12 weeks, either alone or in combination with 
Parental Leave. 
 
Length and Conditions of Parental or Family Leave 
 
Parental or family leave can be taken for up to 12 weeks during any 12-
month period. You can take more than one leave during a 12-month period but you 
are not entitled to take more than a total of 12 weeks unless your employer is willing to 
give it to you.  Both parental leave and family leave run concurrently, allowing you a 
maximum of 12 weeks leave between both categories.   
 
Employees are guaranteed up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave during pregnancy 
and/ or following the birth of an employee’s child.  It is important that you give 
reasonable written notice to your employer that you want to take a leave, including 
when you want the leave to start and when you plan to return to work.  
 
Vermont law only requires that your employer provide you with an unpaid 
leave, unless you would otherwise be entitled to take paid leave under 
existing policies or collective bargaining agreements.  In addition, if you have 
any unused leave time coming to you at work (whether it is accrued vacation, sick leave, 
or other form of paid leave) you have the right to use up to six weeks of that paid leave 
as part of your parental or family leave. After six weeks, it is up to the employer to 
choose whether or not to apply accumulated paid leave time. 
 
If you are taking a leave due to serious illness, and your employer requests it, you are 
required to provide information from a certified health provider explaining why you 
need to take the leave and for how long.  Your employer may also ask your health 
provider for certification that you are fit to return to work.  
 
Your employer is required to continue your employment benefits while you 
are on leave and under the same conditions as if you had been working. 
However, your employer can require you to pay the “employee’s contribution” to those 
benefits, which is the amount that would normally come out of your paycheck. When 
you return to work, you are entitled to the same or comparable job that you left. 
 
In 2012, the Vermont Supreme Court ruled that annual and sick leave accruals are not 
employee benefits. Therefore, your employer is not required to accrue 
vacation and sick leave hours for the unpaid hours that you take off for 
either short-term or long-term family or parental leave.  However, your 
employer may continue to allow you to accrue vacation and sick time during either short 
or long-term leave. 
 
If you work for an employer who employs 50 or more employees, you might have some 
additional rights under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act. 



Chapter 5: Employment, The Legal Rights of Women in Vermont          Page:   7 
Vermont Commission on Women     women.vermont.gov      800-881-1561 

Short-Term Family Leave 
 
Vermont law also allows you to take a number of short-term leaves each year if they are 
related to certain school activities or medical appointments of you or your family 
members.   The law covering short-term family leaves applies to employees who have 
worked an average of at least 30 hours a week for a year for an employer that employs 15 
or more employees. 
 
Short-term leaves may be taken by an employee to participate in the 
academically-related preschool or school activities of that person’s child, 
stepchild, foster child or ward. These include such things as parent-teacher 
conferences. 
 
An employee may also use a short-term leave to attend routine medical or 
dental appointments, or to respond to medical emergencies, of their child, 
stepchild, foster child or ward, and of their parent, spouse or parent-in-law.   
The law also allows an employee to go with a parent, spouse or parent-in-law to other 
types of appointments for professional services relating to their care and well-being. 
Examples might include accompanying the family member to meetings with nursing 
homes or home health care providers. 
 
The law allows an employee to take up to 4 hours of unpaid leave in any 30-day period 
as long as not more than 24 hours are taken in any 12-month period. An employer can 
require an employee to take off at least two hours for each requested leave, even if the 
employee believes the activity or appointment will take less time.  An employee can 
choose to use any accrued paid vacation or personal leave rather than taking the time off 
as unpaid leave. 
 
If an employee wishes to take a short-term family leave, after trying to schedule the 
appointment outside of regular working hours, she must tell her employer as soon as 
possible. The notice to the employer cannot be less than seven days before the leave is to 
be taken. This prior notice requirement does not apply in emergencies, when being held 
to at least a seven-day notice would have a negative impact on the family member. 
 
Retaliation Prohibited 
 
An employer cannot fire or retaliate in any other manner against an employee who 
exercises the right to take any leave as defined in these laws. 
 
Earned Sick Leave 
 
A state law effective January 2017 requires employers to provide earned paid sick time 
to their employees who work an average of 18 hours per week or more (excluding 
seasonal workers who work fewer than 20 weeks per year, temporary employees 
scheduled to work fewer than 20 weeks, and certain per diem or intermittent workers).  
Small businesses with fewer than five full time workers have an extension until January 
1, 2018.  Employers may institute a one-year waiting period for all employees in the first 
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year this act is effective.  New businesses are exempt for one year after hiring their first 
employee. 
 
Employees must earn the equivalent of at least 1 hour of paid time for every 52 hours 
worked. Employers can limit employees to using 40 hours of earned paid sick time per 
year. Employers can also opt to require a one-year waiting period for new-hires, during 
which they must earn but may not use earned sick time. 
 
Employees may use their earned time off: 
 
• if they are ill or injured; 
• to obtain professional health care; 
• to care for a sick or injured parent, grandparent, child, brother, sister, parent-in-law, 

grandchild, or foster child, including to help them obtain health care; 
• to arrange for social or legal services, obtain medical care or counseling for 

themselves, a parent, grandparent, spouse, child, brother, sister, parent-in-law, 
grandchild, or a foster child who is a victim of, or who is relocating as a result of 
domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking; or  

• to care for a parent, grandparent, spouse, child, brother, sister, parent-in-law, 
grandchild, or foster child because the school or business where that individual is 
normally located during the employee’s workday is closed for public health or safety 
reasons. 

 
Military and National Guard Leave 
 
The Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) 
provides employees who are called up to perform military service with reemployment 
rights.  If you miss work because you are called to military service, USERRA 
protects you for up to five years. 
 
If your military leave lasts less than 90 days, your employer must promptly return you 
to the job you would have had during that time.  If your leave lasts more than 90 days, 
your employer may substitute a different job with the same pay, status, and seniority as 
the job you would have had.  You continue to accrue seniority while on military leave 
and must be given any raises and promotions associated with that seniority.  If you have 
health insurance, your employer must continue to offer it for up to 18 months after 
military leave, with restrictions on how much your employer can charge for continued 
coverage. 
 
If you are a member of the reserve components of the armed forces (e.g. National 
Guard), Vermont law entitles you to 15 calendar days of employment leave.  Your 
employer may not deduct sick leave or vacation days during this period.  Your employer 
must reinstate you to the same position, with the same status, pay and seniority as you 
previously had.  Whether this leave is paid is up to your employer. 
 
Whether you are a member or reserve member of the armed forces, you must provide 
your employer with a reasonable notification of your military leave, if possible. 
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Military Family Leave Entitlements 
 
The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) also provides employment leave 
for parents, spouses, and children of members of the armed forces.  The 
FMLA allows qualified employees to take up to 12 weeks leave in a 12-month period for 
any “qualifying exigency” arising out of the active duty of their parent, child or spouse.  
“Qualifying exigencies” arising out of active duty include: 
 
• short-notice deployment (deployment on 7 days or less notice) allows for seven 

calendar days off, beginning on the day the military member receives notice of 
deployment; 

• military events and related activities; 
• childcare and related activities; 
• making financial and legal arrangements to address the military member’s absence 

such as preparing and executing financial and healthcare powers of attorney or 
obtaining military identification cards; 

• rest and recuperation before deployment (15-day maximum leave); 
• attending qualified post-deployment activities up to 90 days following the 

termination of the military member’s covered active duty; 
• attending counseling arising from the active duty status of the military member. 
 
The FMLA allows qualified employees up to 26 weeks of job-protected leave 
in a 12-month period to care for a service member with a serious injury or 
illness.  This leave may be used intermittently whenever medically necessary to care for 
a covered service member. 
 
To qualify for either of the above military family leave entitlements, you must: 
 

• work for a covered employer (all public agencies, local schools, and private 
employers with 50 or more employees in 20 or more work weeks during the 
year); 

• have worked for the employer for at least 12 months; 
• have worked at least 1,250 hours over the last 12 months; and 
• Work at a location where at least 50 employees are employed within 75 miles of 

the employer.  
 
Uniformed Services Discrimination Prohibited 
 
Under federal law, it is illegal for an employer to discriminate against a member of the 
uniformed services in relation to employment, promotion, or any workplace benefits. 

 
Preference in Hiring of Ex-service Personnel for State Positions 
 
Vermont law requires that ex-service personnel who have a service-connected disability, 
their spouses, or their spouses who have a disability in their own right, be given 
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preference in hiring and retention for positions funded by state payroll dollars. This 
preference also extends to the unremarried widows and widowers of ex-service 
personnel. Preference must also be given to ex-service personnel who were on active 
duty during a war or campaign for which a campaign badge has been authorized and 
have been honorably discharged. 
 
Teacher’s Sick Leave 
 
Full-time public school teachers under contract to teach the regular school year are 
allowed a minimum of ten school days' sick leave with full pay during each school year. 
Any unused sick leave will accumulate up to a minimum of twenty days, for the duration 
of employment in the same school district. 
 
Juror and Witness Leave 
 
Employees in Vermont are considered employed while serving as a juror, for purposes of 
determining seniority, fringe benefits, credit toward vacations and other rights, 
privileges, and benefits of employment.  Your employer cannot discriminate 
against you or lay you off because of your jury service.   
 
The same law applies to employees serving as witnesses to any legal proceeding at which the 
state is authorized to hear testimony under oath.  If you or a family member has been a victim 
of a listed crime, or you are a representative of a victim, your employer may not 
discharge or discipline you for honoring a subpoena to testify.  
 
Town Meeting 
 
Vermont law makes town meeting a holiday for employees of state government.  The 
law also gives Vermont employees the right to take unpaid leave from work 
for town meeting. You must provide your employer with notice 7 days prior to your 
absence, and your absence cannot interfere with the essential operations of the business 
or entity that you work for.  Students over 18 also have the right to attend town meeting, 
unless they are in state custody at a secure facility.  These students may not be treated as 
truants for missing school to attend town meetings.   
 
Addressing an Employer’s Violation of the Parental and Family Leave Law 
 
For help with addressing an employer’s violation of these laws, you can: 
 
• file a complaint with the Vermont Attorney General’s Office, Civil Rights Unit;  
• file a complaint with your county’s State’s Attorney; 
• file a complaint with the Vermont Human Rights Commission (only for employees of 

state government agencies); 
• file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (under 

the federal FMLA, if you work for an employer that has 50 or more employees); 
• Consult with a private attorney. 
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For contact information and other resources, see VCW’s Resource Directory – 
Employment section. 

 
Workplace Health and Hygiene 
 
Under Vermont law, your employer must provide you with “reasonable 
opportunity” to eat and use toilet facilities in order to protect your health 
and hygiene.  Federal law mandates that if your employer provides a lunch period, it is 
counted as “hours worked” and must be paid unless the lunch period lasts at least thirty 
minutes and you are completely uninterrupted and free from work. 
 
Drug Testing 
 
Vermont law prohibits employers from requiring, or even asking, their 
employees or prospective employees to submit to drug or alcohol testing, 
except under specific circumstances. (There may be exceptions for some kinds of 
jobs that are subject to federal regulations.)   
 
An employer can prohibit an employee from using illegal drugs or alcohol during work 
hours or being under the influence during work hours. 
 
Employers in Vermont are not allowed to do random or company-wide drug testing of 
their employees unless a federal law or regulation requires it. An employer can require 
an employee to undergo a drug test if all of the following conditions are met: 
 
• there is a very strong reason (“probable cause”) to believe that the particular 

employee is using, or is under the influence of drugs; 
• the employer has an employee assistance program for treatment of drug or alcohol 

abuse, or makes such treatment available through insurance coverage; and 
• the employer does not terminate the employee for having a positive test result if the 

employee agrees to attend and successfully completes a rehabilitation program 
(although employees can be suspended for up to three months in order to do the 
program).   

 
Employers are not prohibited from firing employees who engage in a treatment program 
and later test positive for drug use. 

 
If you are applying for a job, employers can only require you to take a drug test if they 
have offered you a job and then made it contingent on your having a negative drug test 
as part of a comprehensive medical exam. Don’t worry if you are taking a prescription 
drug or over-the-counter drugs for treatment of an illness or condition, since these are 
not allowed to be included in the test results. 
 
If your employer is allowed to administer a drug test, there are some restrictions.  First, 
the test can only be used to detect alcohol or drugs at nontherapeutic levels.  Drugs 
detected at a therapeutic level are considered a negative test result.  Second, the test 
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cannot require a blood sample.  Finally, if the laboratory finds a positive result, a second 
test must be performed to confirm the test results.   
 
Unemployment Compensation 
 
You might be eligible to receive unemployment compensation benefits if you have been 
laid off from your job or, under some circumstances, if you quit or were fired. Whether 
you can receive unemployment compensation benefits will depend on many factors. 
These can include why you were terminated, how long you worked and how much you 
have been paid over a particular time period. 
 
To find out if you qualify for unemployment compensation benefits, contact the 
Vermont Department of Labor. (See VCW’s Resource Directory – Employment section 
for contact information.) 
 
Domestic and Sexual Violence Transitional Employment Benefits 
 
You may be eligible for up to 26 weeks of unemployment payments (a state-funded 
program) if: 
 
• you leave your job due to circumstances directly resulting from domestic violence, 

sexual assault or stalking; 
• you fear that the violence will continue at, or on the way to or from work; and 
you intend to move away to protect yourself and/or your family; or 
• you are fired from your job because of the violence. 
 
To be eligible you need to try to find reasonable alternatives before quitting, such as 
asking your employer to transfer you to another (safer) job location.  You also need to 
provide documentation of the domestic or sexual violence including a sworn statement 
from you, police records, court records, such as a relief from abuse order, or other 
documentation of the violence from an attorney, clergy person, or health care provider. 
 
If you are denied unemployment benefits and you feel that you qualify under this 
program, contact the Vermont Department of Labor.  (See VCW’s Resource Directory – 
Employment section.) 
 
Workers’ Compensation 
 
If you have suffered a work-related injury or an occupation-related disease, 
you might be able to receive workers’ compensation benefits.  A work injury is 
an injury that arises out of and in the course of employment.  Injuries that are not 
covered under workers’ compensation include an employee intentionally hurting 
themselves, injury while intoxicated at work, and an employee’s failure to use a safety 
appliance.   
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If you think you might be eligible, you must notify your employer, who then 
has 72 hours to report the injury to the Workers’ Compensation Division of 
the Vermont Department of Labor. At the same time, your employer’s insurance 
adjuster is notified, who then has 21 days to investigate and decide whether or not to 
accept your claim.  Make sure when you seek medical care for your injury or your illness 
that the doctor/medical facility knows that you believe that your injury/illness is work-
related. 

If you are injured on the job, you may be entitled to: 

• payment of medical bills associated with that injury, including mileage to and from
the doctor;

• temporary total or partial disability payments between the time of your injury and
the time you can either return to work or you have improved medically as much as
you are going to improve;

• permanent partial or total disability benefits for any permanent injury you have
suffered;

• prescription drugs, medical equipment and reasonably necessary assistive devices
and modifications to employee’s home or car;

• vocational rehabilitation services to help you return to the work force;
• reinstatement to the first suitable, available position when you are able to return to

work following your injury (as long as your recovery occurs within two years of the
injury and you work for an employer who has at least 10 employees).

It is unlawful for your employer to retaliate because of a workers’ compensation claim.  
See the section Retaliation and Whistleblower Protection below.  If your claim is denied, 
you have the right to contest it by contacting the Workers’ Compensation Division of the 
Vermont Department of Labor. (See VCW’s Resource Directory – Employment section.) 

Discrimination and Harassment 

Employment discrimination occurs when an employer treats applicants or 
employees unfavorably because of certain protected characteristics (e.g., 
age, race, or sex) or because they engage in certain legally-protected 
activities (e.g., opposing or complaining of discrimination or requesting 
workplace accommodations).  In many instances, employment discrimination is an 
intentional act.  However, discrimination may also occur even if the employer is acting 
in good faith — such as when (i) neutral employment standards unnecessarily screen out 
certain classes of employees or applicants or (ii) employees of different sexes are not 
paid the same for performing the same work.   

Employment discrimination is prohibited under both federal and state law.  The five 
major federal laws are: 

• Title VII of the federal Civil Rights Act of 1964, which prohibits employment
discrimination based on the employee’s race, color, religion, sex or national origin.

http://women.vermont.gov/Employment
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The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), the federal agency 
responsible for enforcing Title VII, has taken the position that Title VII prohibits 
discrimination against LGBTQ individuals on the ground that it is a form of unlawful 
sex discrimination;  

• The Pregnancy Discrimination Act (PDA), which amended Title VII to clarify that
pregnancy discrimination is a form of sex discrimination, and requires workplace 
accommodations for pregnant individuals on the same basis as those provided other 
workers facing similar physical limitations; 

• The Equal Pay Act of 1963 (EPA), which requires equal pay for equal work;
• The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), which prohibits employment

discrimination against qualified individuals with disabilities and requires reasonable
accommodation of individuals; and

• the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA), which prohibits discrimination
against individuals 40 and older.

In most instances, whether a federal law applies to an employer depends upon the size 
of the employer.  Title VII, the PDA, and the ADA apply to employers with 15 or more 
employees.  The ADEA applies to employers with 20 or more employees.  However, the 
EPA applies to employers of any size, provided they are involved in interstate 
commerce.  

Federal prohibitions against employment discrimination may also apply under 
Executive Orders.  Specifically, Executive Orders 11246 and 11375 require entities that 
receive federal contracts or grants of at least $10,000 to maintain workplaces free of 
discrimination on the basis of sex, race, color, religion and national origin.  

Vermont’s employment discrimination laws are similar to the federal laws but apply to 
all Vermont employers, regardless of size. The principal Vermont law is referred to as 
the Fair Employment Practices Act (FEPA).   

The FEPA prohibits the same categories of discrimination as federal laws and adds a few 
additional categories: 

• Sexual orientation;
• Gender identity;
• Place of birth;
• Ancestry; and
• HIV status

In addition, FEPA protects the same workplace activities protected by federal law (e.g., 
complaints of discrimination, requests for reasonable accommodation) and adds 
additional protected activities such as inquiring about, disclosing, and discussing wages. 
Some examples of prohibited employment policies and/or practices: 

• Job advertisements.  It is illegal for an employer to publish a job advertisement
that shows a preference for or discourages someone from applying for a job based on
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their protected category.  For example, a help-wanted ad that seeks "females" or 
"recent college graduates" may discourage men and people over 40 from applying 
and may violate the law; 

• Recruitment.  It is illegal for an employer to recruit new employees in a way that
discriminates against the protected class.  For example, an employer's reliance on
word-of-mouth recruitment by its mostly Hispanic work force may violate the law if
the result is that almost all new hires are Hispanic;

• Application and hiring.  It is illegal for an employer to discrimination against a
job applicant because of his/ her protected class.  For example, an employer may not
refuse to give employment applications to people of a certain race;

• Job referrals.  It is illegal for an employer, employment agency or union to take
into account a person’s protected class when making decisions about job referrals;

• Job assignment and promotion.  It is illegal for an employer to make decisions
about job assignments and promotions based on an employee’s protected class.  For
example, an employer may not give preference to employees of a certain race when
making shift assignments and may not segregate employees of a particular national
origin from other employees or from customers;

• Pay and benefits.  It is illegal for an employer to discriminate against an employee
in the payment of wages or employee benefits on the basis of a person’s protected
class.  For example, an employer many not pay Hispanic workers less than African-
American workers because of their national origin; and men and women in the same
workplace must be given equal pay for equal work;

• Discipline and discharge.  An employer may not take into account a person’s
protected class when making decisions about discipline or discharge.  For example, if
two employees commit a similar offense, an employer may not discipline them
differently because of their race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national
origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information;

• Employment references.  It is illegal for an employer to give a negative or false
employment reference because of a person’s protected class.

Sex or Gender Discrimination 

Sex or gender discrimination is treating an employee or applicant 
unfavorably because of that person’s sex or gender.  Unlawful sex 
discrimination can occur at any stage of the employment process. Sex or gender 
discrimination may have taken place if employees are treated unequally or are subjected 
to different terms or conditions because of being a woman in any of the following areas 
of employment: 

• Recruitment.  For example, only recruiting from male-dominated fields;
• Hiring.  For example, discouraging women from applying; not giving equal

consideration to or refusing to hire;
• Firing.  For example, using different standards for women and men in deciding

whether to terminate;
• Training.  For example, not providing equal training opportunities to women and

men;
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• Job assignments.  For example, making assumptions about what work women can
do;

• Promotions.  For example, promoting a man over a more qualified woman;
routinely passing over women for promotion;

• Pay.  For example, paying women at a different rate than men for the same or
substantially similar work;

• Benefits.  For example, providing different benefits to women than men, such as
pension and life insurance plans, health insurance and dates of optional retirement;

• Layoffs.  For example, applying sexist and unequal standards when making lay-off
decisions, such as thinking it would be harder on a family for a man to lose his job
than a woman to lose hers;

• Leave.  For example, not allowing women to take leaves in the same way or for the
same reasons as men;

• Treatment on the job, e.g. discipline, harassment (see the section on Sexual
Harassment later in this chapter);

• All other employment-related activities.

Questions Employers May Ask 

Employer questions that are not a per se violation of the law, but might be indicative of 
an intent to discriminate and therefore not wise to ask or answer: 

• Are you pregnant?
• Are you married?
• Do you have children or plan to?
• What is your race, color, or ethnicity?
• What is your religious affiliation?  There are exceptions for religious organizations,

e.g., a Catholic high school could lawfully prefer Catholic employees.
• How old are you? (Age can be a legitimate hiring criterion for certain jobs, for

example: wait staff may need to be 21 to serve alcohol.

Employer questions that are illegal to ask: 

Are you disabled? Under the ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act), it is illegal to 
inquire about disability status before extending a conditional job offer.  Once a job offer 
has been extended, the employer may make medical-related inquiries, including 
physical exams, as consistent with business necessity.  For example, a candidate offered 
the position of police officer may be told that employment is contingent upon passing a 
physical exam, which may include inquiries about the person's medical history. 

Do you socially drink or smoke? Under federal and Vermont law, smokers are not a 
legally protected category, however, asking about drinking may elicit disability-related 
answers ("No, I'm an alcoholic") and thus could be a violation of the ADA. 
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Pay Discrimination 

Pay discrimination occurs when an employer pays lower compensation to 
an employee on the basis of sex for jobs that require substantially equal 
skill, effort and responsibility, and that are performed under similar 
working conditions within the same establishment.  Compensation can include 
salary, overtime pay, bonuses, stock options, profit sharing and bonus plans, life 
insurance, vacation and holiday pay, cleaning or gasoline allowances, hotel 
accommodations, reimbursement for travel expenses and benefits.  If you earn less than 
a male coworker for equal work that requires equal skill, effort, and responsibility, and 
is performed under similar work conditions, your employer may be engaging in pay 
discrimination.   

Employers may pay different wages based on seniority, merits, or other earning systems, 
but cannot arbitrarily pay women less than men. 

Vermont’s Fair Employment Practices Act, Title VII of the federal Civil Rights Act of 
1964 and the federal Equal Pay Act of 1963 all offer protection from pay discrimination, 
depending on the circumstances of your case. The federal government also passed the 
Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009. This Act gives employees a new cause of action 
against their employer each time discriminatory wages or compensation is paid. It 
allows victims of pay discrimination to challenge unequal wages well after the employee 
was first hired.    

Vermont law also prohibits employers from denying their employees the 
right to disclose wages and to discuss wages with co-workers.  Any attempt to 
punish or silence you or another employee, regardless of their sex, for disclosing wages 
or inquiring about a coworkers’ wages is also considered pay discrimination.  An 
employer cannot require you to sign a statement as a condition of employment that you 
will not disclose your wages to anyone, nor can they put a clause in their personnel 
manual that forbids you from discussing your salary with other employees.   

Sexual Harassment 

Employers are responsible for maintaining a workplace free of sexual 
harassment. 

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) publishes guidelines on 
sexual harassment. These guidelines help form the basis of sexual harassment law that 
has been developing in state and federal courts. 

Vermont law defines sexual harassment as follows: a form of sex discrimination and 
means unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, or offensive comments 
about a person’s sex when: 
(1) submission to that conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition 

of employment; or 
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(2) submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as a component 
of the basis for employment decisions affecting that individual; or 

(3) the conduct has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an individual’s 
work performance or creating an intimidating, hostile or offensive work 
environment. 

There are two forms of sexual harassment: 

(1.) “Quid pro quo” (“this for that”) sexual harassment involves situations where an 
employer or supervisory level employee requests or requires a person (most often a 
woman) to exchange sexual favors for some job benefit (for example, being hired, 
promoted, getting some fringe benefit) or to prevent some negative job-related action 
(for example, being fired, getting a bad evaluation, not being allowed to go for special 
training). An employer can be held responsible for quid pro quo harassment whether or 
not the employer was aware that it had occurred. 

(2.) “Hostile environment” sexual harassment occurs when the conduct of behavior 
is: 
• either sexual in nature or directed at only one sex; and
• frequent or repeated behavior, or a single severe incident (otherwise referred to as

either “severe or pervasive”); and
• unwelcome; and
• unreasonably interfering with a person’s ability to perform work, or creating an

abusive environment within which to work.

You do not need to be the “victim” of the harassment in order to claim a 
“hostile environment.”  

An employer will usually be held responsible for harassment that is committed by a 
supervisor or manager, especially if some adverse action happens to you or to another 
employee as part of the harassment, or as punishment for not giving in to the 
harassment.   

If a coworker causes the harassment, the employer may be held liable if the employer 
knew or should have known of the harassment and failed to take prompt and 
appropriate action in response to this knowledge. 

If harassment by a supervisor/manager has occurred, but there hasn’t been any adverse 
action by the supervisor/manager, the employer can only escape liability if it has taken 
reasonable steps to prevent harassment, has promptly and appropriately addressed 
claims of harassment, and the victim unreasonably fails to use the employer’s grievance 
or complaint process. 

Under Vermont’s Sexual Harassment in Employment Act, all employers are 
required to have a sexual harassment policy. Employers must provide it to every 
employee and display it on a poster that describes the employer’s policy against sexual 
harassment. The policy and poster also must include a description of how an employee 
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could file a complaint with an appropriate state and federal agency. If the employer has 
more than five employees, the policy and poster are also required to provide a 
description of how an employee could file an internal complaint with the employer. 

Pregnancy Discrimination 

Pregnancy discrimination is treating a woman unfavorably because of pregnancy, 
childbirth, or a medical condition related to pregnancy or childbirth.  Discrimination 
that is directed at women because they are pregnant is another form of 
unlawful sex discrimination in employment. Congress enacted the Pregnancy 
Discrimination Act, making it clear that a woman cannot be discriminated against in 
employment simply because she is pregnant. This means that an employer cannot make 
assumptions about what types of jobs a pregnant woman is capable of performing, 
cannot refuse to hire a pregnant woman and cannot fire a woman because she is 
pregnant.  Furthermore, if a woman is temporarily unable to perform her job due to a 
medical condition related to pregnancy or childbirth, she must be treated the same way 
as any other temporarily disabled employee.  This includes allowing her to take a 
disability leave, or leave without pay.   

A recent U.S. Supreme Court case, Young v. UPS, ruled that employers couldn’t 
intentionally discriminate against pregnant employees, but the employer is only 
obligated to accommodate pregnant workers to the extent they accommodate other 
employees who are similarly situated in their ability to work. 

The Vermont Supreme Court specifically recognized that sex discrimination under 
Vermont’s Fair Employment Practices Act also covers discrimination on the basis of 
pregnancy.  

A new Vermont law, effective January 1, 2018 requires employers to 
provide reasonable accommodations to pregnant workers who request 
them, unless it would be an undue hardship on the employer.  Those 
accommodations include, but are not limited to, a seat, access to water, lift restrictions, 
and climbing restrictions.  The new law extends the same rights and standards with 
respect to the provision of a reasonable accommodation as a qualified individual with a 
disability, regardless of whether the pregnant individual qualifies as a person with a 
disability.  

Nursing Mothers in the Workplace 

Vermont law protects nursing mothers in the workplace for up to three years following 
the birth of a child. Employers must provide a reasonable time and place for mothers to 
express breast milk in privacy throughout the day, unless it would substantially disrupt 
the employer’s operations. A reasonable place does not include a bathroom stall. 
Whether these breaks are compensated is left to the employer’s discretion, unless 
modified by a collective bargaining agreement.  
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Other Forms of Employment Discrimination 

Vermont extends protection of many anti-discrimination laws, including the Fair 
Employment Practices Act, to cover people who are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and those 
experiencing gender identity discrimination. The same legal rights that make it unlawful 
to discriminate against or to harass people on the basis of sex also apply to people who 
experience discrimination or harassment because of their sexual orientation or gender 
identity.  

In addition to sex and sexual orientation, it is important to understand that the law 
prohibits discrimination or harassment in hiring, pay, work conditions, promotions, 
discipline, treatment on the job, etc., against any person because of: 

• Race (for example, African American, Asian American, Native American);
• Color (any type of skin color);
• National origin (being from outside the U.S.);
• Religion (an employer has to make reasonable accommodations for an employee’s

religious practices or beliefs);
• Genetic information (information about an individual’s genetic tests, including

family members);
• Gender identity (whether you identify yourself, or are perceived as, male or

female, regardless of your assigned sex at birth);
• Ancestry (your family background or heritage);
• Place of birth (where you were born, inside or outside the U.S.);
• Age (18 years of age or older - can be because you are young or because you are

older), it is lawful for an employer to use age as an occupational qualification that is
reasonably necessary for the normal operation of a particular business;

• Having a positive HIV-related blood test;
• Physical or mental disability;

Discrimination on any of these bases is unlawful and can be addressed through the same 
avenues as sex discrimination. 

Disability 

People with physical or mental disabilities face particular challenges in the workplace 
that require not only equal treatment but additional safeguards.  People are considered 
to have a disability if they have, are regarded as having, or have a history of, a physical 
or mental impairment that substantially limits their ability to do such things as walking, 
talking, seeing, hearing, speaking, learning or working.    

It is against the law for a “qualified person with a disability” to be discriminated against 
in employment. A “qualified person with a disability” is a person with a disability who is 
capable of performing the essential functions of the job with or without a reasonable 
accommodation made for the disability. 
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Vermont’s Fair Employment Practices Act (covering all Vermont employees) and Title I 
of the federal Americans with Disabilities Act (if you work for an employer with 15 or 
more employees) both provide safeguards against disability discrimination. 

Federal law bans disability discrimination in regards to job application procedures, 
hiring, advancement, discharge, employee compensation, job training and other terms.  
Federal law also bans discrimination against employees for being 
associated with a person with a disability. For example, a company cannot refuse 
to hire you because you have a disabled child or have high health costs and would be 
eligible to be covered under the company’s employee health plan. 

Employers cannot ask applicants to answer medical questions, take a medical exam, or 
identify a disability.  An employer may ask an applicant whether or how they can 
perform the job.  After the applicant is offered the job, an employer can condition 
employment by requiring the applicant to answer medical questions or to pass a medical 
exam.  An employer must require the same questions or the same exam of employees for 
the same job. 

Reasonable Accommodations  

Federal and State law require employers to make reasonable accommodations at the job 
that would enable a person to perform the job’s essential functions or tasks. A 
“reasonable accommodation” is any change or adjustment to a job or work 
environment that permits a qualified applicant or employee with a 
disability to participate in the job application process, to perform the 
essential functions of a job, or to enjoy benefits and privileges of 
employment equal to those enjoyed by employees without disabilities. For 
example, reasonable accommodations may include: 

• provision or modification of equipment or devices;
• job restructuring;
• part-time or modified work schedules;
• reassignment to a vacant position;
• adjustment or modification of examinations, training materials, or policies;
• provision of readers and interpreters;
• provision of readily accessible and usable workplaces for people with disabilities.

An employee must ask for the reasonable accommodation.  Examples might 
include provision of particular devices to assist in doing the job, modifications to office 
space, job restructuring or modified work schedules. An employer might refuse to grant 
the request if it can show that the request is not reasonable, or if it would cause an 
undue hardship to the employer, e.g. excessive cost or disruption.  An employer cannot 
refuse a reasonable accommodation because it involves some cost. 

The Americans with Disabilities Act also prohibits employers from asking job applicants 
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if they have a disability or asking specifics about a disability, unless it relates to an 
employee’s or a prospective employee’s request for a reasonable accommodation. 

Employers may not withdraw an employment offer based on the information obtained 
in a medical examination, unless it is job-related or necessary for the conduct of the 
employer's business.  However, the job offer may be withdrawn if the 
employee's disability constitutes a "direct threat" to the health and safety of 
the employee and others and no reasonable accommodation is available. 

Retaliation and Whistleblower Protection 

Employers are prohibited by both Vermont and federal employment 
discrimination laws from taking any retaliatory action against an employee 
who complains of discrimination or harassment to an employer or to a state 
or federal enforcement agency.  This protection also applies to employees who 
cooperate with, or provide support to, an investigation into a claim of discrimination or 
harassment.  Retaliation is an adverse action against an employee.  Examples of 
retaliation are: 

• firing or laying off;
• failure to hire;
• blacklisting;
• demoting;
• denying overtime or promotion;
• reducing hours or pay;
• denial of benefits;
• disciplining;
• intimidation;
• harassment; or
• making threats.

Vermont law also protects hospital and nursing home employees against employer 
retaliation.  If you work in a hospital or nursing home, your employer may not retaliate 
against you for reporting any activity or policy you reasonably believe violates the law, 
or any activity or policy you reasonably believe constitutes improper patient care.  Your 
employer may not retaliate against you for refusing to participate in any activity you 
reasonably believe illegal or constitutes improper patient care.   

It is also against the law in Vermont for an employer to fire or to discriminate against 
you for filing a workers’ compensation claim.  It is also unlawful for an employer to 
refuse to hire an applicant because the applicant filed a workers’ compensation claim.  
See section later in this chapter on Workers’ Compensation. 

You must report the alleged violation to a supervisor, and give your employer a 
reasonable opportunity to address the problem. 
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Polygraph Protection 

Vermont employers are generally prohibited from subjecting you to a polygraph (or “lie 
detector”) test.  Employers cannot refuse to hire, promote, or change your status of 
employment if you refuse a polygraph test. 

Please note however, the following employers are allowed to administer polygraph tests: 

• Department of Public Safety;
• Department of Motor Vehicles, for law enforcement positions;
• Police and Sherriff’s departments, for sworn officers of the law;
• Employers whose primary business is in the sale of precious metals or jewelry;
• Employers whose business includes the manufacture or sale of certain regulated

drugs, for employees in direct contact with those drugs;
• Employers required to administer polygraph tests under federal law.

Addressing Discrimination and Retaliation 

If you believe you have suffered discrimination, harassment or retaliation in 
employment, you have a number of options. You may choose more than one of the 
following options: 

• follow your employer’s internal complaint procedures;
• file a complaint with the Vermont Attorney General’s Office, Civil Rights Unit;
• file a complaint with the Vermont Human Rights Commission (only if you are an

employee of a state agency);
• file a complaint with the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC);
• file a complaint with the Office of Federal Contract Compliance (only if you believe

your employer receives some federal funding);
• file a complaint with the U.S. Dept. of Justice Office of Special Counsel for

Immigration-Related Unfair Employment Practices (if your complaint involves
national origin or citizenship discrimination);

• consult with a private attorney.

(See VCW’s Resource Directory – Legal section for contact information.) 

At the state level, potential remedies may include: reinstatement to your job; back wages 
and benefits; emotional distress damages; reasonable cost of your attorney’s fees; and 
particular requirements that must be met by your employer. 

If you bring your case in federal court, the 1991 Civil Rights Act enables employees who 
have suffered intentional discrimination or harassment to be awarded money damages. 
Federal law places a limit on the amount of money that can be awarded by a court. For 
example, an individual can only recover up to $50,000 if the employer has 100 or fewer 
employees; up to $100,000 if it has 101 to 200 employees; up to $200,000 if it has 201 
to 500 employees; and up to $300,000 if it has more than 500 employees. 

http://women.vermont.gov/Legal
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Labor Trafficking 

In 2011, Vermont became the 42nd state to pass human trafficking legislation. This law 
includes labor trafficking as well as sex trafficking. If you feel that you have been forced 
to stay in a job or perform a service through force, fraud or coercion, you may be a 
victim of labor trafficking. You do not need to be an immigrant or have moved to 
Vermont for the job. It does not matter if you originally consented to do the job or 
signed a contract. 

An employer may not withhold your identification card or passport or 
threaten to withhold food or medical care. 

Examples of labor trafficking may include working as a domestic servant (nanny or 
maid), in a sweat shop, in the meat packing industry, as a janitor, restaurant or food 
service worker, a migrant, a farm worker, or in the hotel or tourist industry. 

Note that you may be eligible for victim’s assistance services and legal help, including 
immigration assistance, as soon as a law enforcement officer finds there is a probable 
cause of labor trafficking. 

For a full description of this law including the legal definition of coercion, criminal 
penalties for trafficking, and your rights as a victim including immigration assistance, 
please see the Violence Against Women and Children chapter of The Legal Rights of 
Women in Vermont. 

Relevant Laws 

Vermont: 

Absence on Military Service and Training, 21 V.S.A. §491 – 493 
Accommodations for pregnant employees, 21 V.S.A. § 495d 
Drug Testing law, 21 V.S.A. § 511, et seq. 
Earned Sick Time, 21 V.S.A. Chapter 5, subchapter 4b 
Employment Conditions, 21 V.S.A. § 304 
Fair Employment Practices Act, 21 V.S.A. §495, et seq. 
Flexible Working Arrangements, 21 V.S.A. §309 
Human Trafficking, 13 V.S.A. §2651, et seq. 
Juror and Witness Work Leave, 21 V.S.A. § 499   
Town Meeting, 21 V.S.A.§472b. 
Military Preference in Appointment to State Jobs, 20 V.S.A. §1543   
Minimum Wage and Hour Act, 21 V.S.A. §381, et seq. 
Nursing Mothers in the Workplace, 21 V.S.A. §305 
Parental and Family Leave, 21 V.S.A. §470, et seq. 
Polygraph Testing as Condition for Employment, 21 V.S.A. §494a-b 
Sexual Harassment in the Workplace, 21 V.S.A. §495d (13), 495h §1755 
Sick Leave, 16 V.S.A. 

http://women.vermont.gov/sites/women/files/pdf/Chapter13ViolenceWEB.pdf
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/
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Subpoena to Testify, 13 V.S.A. §5313 
Unemployment Benefits for Victims of Domestic and Sexual Violence, 21 V.S.A. §1251, et 
seq. 
Unemployment Compensation Act, 21 V.S.A. §1302, et seq. 
Whistleblower Protection, 28 V.S.A. §507 
Workers’ Compensation Act, 21 V.S.A. §601, et seq. 
Workers’ Compensation Act (discrimination), 21 V.S.A. §710 

Federal: 

Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA), 29 U.S.C.A. §621, et seq. 
Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), Title I, 42 U.S.C.A. §12101, et seq. 
Civil Rights Act of 1991, Pub.L.102-166 (Amendments to Title VII) 
Equal Pay Act of 1963, 29 U.S.C.A. §206(d)(1) 
Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C.A. §201, et seq. 
Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, 29 U.S.C.A. §2601, et seq.   
Pregnancy Discrimination Act of 1978, 42 U.S.C.A. §2000e(k) 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Section 501, 29 U.S.C.A. §791 
Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA), 38 U.S.C. 
§4301 – 4335.
Title VII of the Civil Rights Acts of 1964 and 1991, 42 U.S.C.A. §2000e 
Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009, Section 706(e), 42 U.S.C. §2000e 
Rights and Protections Under Employee Polygraph Protection Act, 2 U.S.C.A. 1314 
Prohibiting Employment Discrimination on the Basis of Genetic Information, 42 
U.S.C.A. 2000ff, et seq. 
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