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Learn more about new laws passed by the Vermont Legislature during the past session that particularly impact 

women.   

 Automatic Voter Registration (H.458, Act 80) 

What is it:  Provides automatic voter registration for eligible Vermonters at 

the time of application for a driver’s license or non-driver ID card.   

It streamlines voter registration at the DMV with a system that 

identifies eligible voters and automatically sends their information 

to their municipal clerk for addition to the voter checklist, unless 

they choose to opt out, thereby increases voter registration, 

decreasing barriers to voting, saving Vermonters time and energy.     

Effective Date:   July 1, 2017 

Learn more:    Read the text of the bill here. 

 

 Earned Sick Time (H.187, Act 69)  

What is it:  Guarantees paid sick leave for Vermont workers, eliminating the 
necessity to choose between caring for oneself or a family member 
and a paycheck.       

 
This act requires employers to provide earned, paid sick time to 
their employees who work an average of 18 hours per week or 
more (excluding seasonal workers who work fewer than 20 weeks 
per year, temporary employees scheduled to work fewer than 20 
weeks, and certain per diem or intermittent workers). 
 
Employees must earn the equivalent of at least 1 hour of paid time 
for every 52 hours worked.  Employers can limit employees use to 

http://women.vermont.gov/
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40 hours of earned time per year.  Employers can also opt to 
require a one-year waiting period for new-hires, during which 
they must earn but may not use earned sick time. 
 
Employees may use their earned time off: 

 if they are ill or injured;  

 to obtain professional health care;  

 to care for a sick or injured parent, grandparent, child, 

brother, sister, parent-in-law, grandchild, or foster child, 

including to help them obtain health care;  

 to arrange for social or legal services, obtain medical care 

or counseling for themselves, a parent, grandparent, 

spouse, child, brother, sister, parent-in-law, grandchild, or 

foster child who is a victim of or is relocating as a result of 

domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.   

 to care for a parent, grandparent, spouse, child, brother, 

sister, parent-in-law, grandchild, or foster child because 

the school or business where that individual is normally 

located during the employee’s workday is closed for public 

health or safety reasons. 

Effective Date:  January 1, 2017.  Small businesses with fewer than five full time 

workers have an extension until January 1, 2018.  Employers may 

institute a one-year waiting period for all employees in the first year 

this act is effective for their business.  New businesses are exempt 

for one year after hiring their first employee. 

Learn more:    Read the text of the bill here. 

 

 Birth Control Access (H.620, Act 120) 

What is it: Provides greater access to methods of birth control with no co-

pay, including vasectomy and LARCs, and enables uninsured 

women to sign up for health insurance at any time during their 

pregnancy, increasing access to health care.  Value based 

payment for LARCs make it easier for medical offices to provide 

and stock the devices and provide them same day.   

This act codifies the birth control benefit in the Affordable Care 

Act, ensuring that women have access to birth control without co-

pays, enabling women to pick up a year’s supply of birth control in 

one visit, and extends the birth control benefit to no co-pay 

vasectomies.   

http://women.vermont.gov/
http://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2016/H.187
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The act improves access to Long-Acting Reversible Contraceptives 

(LARCs), such as injections, intrauterine devices (IUDs) and 

subdermal implants.  LARCs are the most effective reversible birth 

control methods available and increased access to them has 

reduced the unintended pregnancy rate in other parts of the U.S.  

Value based payments will make it easier for medical offices to 

stock and provide them to patients the same day as their office 

visit.  The act will bring parity to LARCs and oral contraceptives. 

 The act also creates a special health insurance enrollment period 

on the health exchange that allows women to enroll in the 

exchange at any time during their pregnancy, not just during 

Open Enrollment.    

Effective:  July 1, 2016 the exchange special enrollment period for pregnancy 

is effective. 

October 1, 2016 no copay birth control access, inclusion of 

vasectomies, and coverage of a year’s supply of birth control are 

effective for Medicaid plans, and for health insurance plans on the 

first date of policy issuance or renewal after October 1, 2016.   

 October 1, 2016 the increased reimbursement rate for LARCs is 

effective. 

Learn more:    Read the text of the bill here. 

 

 Stalking Statutes (S.154, Act 162) 

What is it: This act expands access to civil protection orders and criminal 

remedies by updating the definition of stalking to reflect modern 

realities, including use of technology. It eliminates the 

requirement that an individual seeking a sexual assault protection 

order prove there is danger of future harm, and allows the 

issuance of a protective order once the plaintiff has established 

they were sexually assaulted by the defendant.  

Updates the criminal and civil definition of stalking to include:  

 engaging purposefully in a course of conduct; 
 directing the conduct at a specific person; 
 that the person engaging in the conduct knows or 

should know the conduct would cause a reasonable 
person to fear for his or her safety or the safety of 
another or would cause a reasonable person 
substantial emotional distress. 

 

http://women.vermont.gov/
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Redefines the stalker’s “course of conduct” as two or more acts 
over a period of time, however short, in which a person follows, 
monitors, surveils, threatens, or makes threats about another 
person, or interferes with another person’s property. This applies 
to acts conducted by the person directly or indirectly, and by any 
action, method, device, or means. This update includes modern 
technological means used to track, intimidate and harass victims.  

 
States that no overt threat is required.  

 
Includes fear of physical harm and emotional distress. A stalking 
(civil protection) order may be granted if a person suffers 
substantial emotional distress as evidenced by:  

 
(i) a fear of unlawful sexual conduct, unlawful restraint, 
bodily injury, or death; or  
(ii) significant modifications in the person’s actions or 
routines, including moving from an established residence, 
changes to established daily routes to and from work that 
cause a serious disruption in the person’s life, changes to 
the person’s employment or work schedule, or the loss of 
a job or time from work.  
 

Adds “lewd and lascivious conduct” to the definition of sexual 
assault.  

 
Eliminates the prior requirement that a plaintiff seeking a Civil 
Sexual Assault Protection Order prove that there is a danger of 
the defendant further harming the plaintiff.  This law instead 
directs the court to issue an order if it finds that the defendant did 
sexually assault the plaintiff.   

 
Effective:    July 1, 2016 
 
Learn more:    Read the text of the bill here. 

 

 Protection Orders (S.154, Act 162 & H.95, Act 153) 

What is it:  Allows minors age 16 and 17 to file for protection orders on their 

own. 

These acts change the age from 18 to 16 that an individual can file 

on their own for Stalking Civil Protection Orders, Sexual Assault 

Civil Protection Orders, (Act 162) and Relief from Abuse Orders 

(Act 153) from any household member.  16 and 17 year olds 

http://women.vermont.gov/
http://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2016/S.154
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already could file an order on their own from someone in a sexual 

or dating relationship, and this bill does not change that.   

Effective: July 1, 2016 

Learn More: Read the text of the bill modifying the statue for Stalking & Sexual 

Assault Civil Protection Orders here. 

 Read the text of the bill modifying the statue for Relief from 

Abuse Orders here. 

 

 Dental Therapist Legislation (S.20, Act 161) 

What is it:  Establishes and regulates a new category of oral health 
practitioner: dental therapists.  

 
This law increases access for Vermonters to oral health care, 
especially in areas with a significant volume of patients who are 
low income, or who are uninsured or underserved.  This bill also 
creates an additional career path for dental hygienists.   

 
Effective:  June 2, 2016 
 
Learn More:  Read the text of the bill here. 
 
  

 Victim Notification (H.153, Act 155) 

What is it: Clarifies the victim notification requirements. 
 

This act clarifies the victim notification requirements at two key 
phases in the criminal process:  

 when corrections terminates or discharges an 
offender from probation; and  

 when an offender is arrested, cited, and then 
released back into the community by law 
enforcement prior to arraignment. It codifies 
existing practices to ensure consistency throughout 
the system and across the state that victims are 
notified in both of these cases.  

 
Effective: July 1, 2016 
 
Learn more: Read the text of the bill here.  
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