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This chapter includes information about: 
Social Security 
Supplementary Security Income (SSI) 
Veterans Benefits 
Reach Up Program 
3SquaresVT (Formerly Food Stamps) 
Women, Infants and Children (WIC) 
Child Care Subsidies 
Essential Person 
General Assistance (GA)/Emergency Assistance (EA) 
Emergency Housing 
Fuel Assistance 
Weatherization Assistance 
State-Sponsored Health Insurance Programs 
Free and Low Cost Medical/Dental Care 
Medicare 
HIV Insurance Assistance 
Lifeline 
Denials, Reductions or Terminations of Governmental Benefits 

 
In Vermont, you may be eligible for a variety of federal and state-sponsored governmental benefits. 
 
Many of the benefits have complicated eligibility requirements that may vary depending on your age, 
marital status, family or household size, family and/or household income, or disability status (mental 
or physical). In addition, the dollar amount of the benefit may change depending on changes in state 
or federal laws, rules or regulations or grants. 
 
The Vermont Agency of Human Services’ web-based eligibility screening tool 
www.myBenefits.vt.gov  is a good place to start for many Vermont programs.  Green Mountain 
Care has a similar screening tool www.greenmountaincare.org that will help you determine your 
eligibility for various state health insurance programs like Medicaid and Dr. Dynasaur.  Also see 
VCW’s Resource Directory—Women’s Health section and the Public Assistance section for a detailed 
directory for further help. 
 

Social Security 
 
As you plan for your retirement, you should be aware that the amount of the monthly retirement 
benefit you may receive from Social Security depends not only on your work contributions but also 
upon the age that you choose to start receiving benefits. 
 

http://www.mybenefits.vt.gov/
www.greenmountaincare.org
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/health
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
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Benefits are calculated based on your “full retirement age.” Normal “full retirement age” 
depends on the year you were born. It goes up from age 65 if you were born before 1938 to age 67 if 
you were born in 1960 or later. 
 
If you choose to begin receiving benefits before your normal “full retirement” age, you will receive 
a reduced benefit for the rest of your life.  You can choose to start receiving social security benefits as 
early as age 62 but doing so may result in a reduction of as much as 25-30% less than you would have 
received if you had waited until full retirement age, regardless of whether you are claiming benefits 
based on your own record or that of your spouse or ex-spouse (if you were married at least ten years.) 
 
Your benefits may also be temporarily reduced if you continue to work and earn over a 
certain amount until you reach full retirement age. 
 
If you delay starting to receive benefits after full retirement age you can increase your monthly 
benefit by up to 8% annually up to age 70 over the benefit you would have received at full retirement 
age. 
 
For example, if you were entitled to $750 a month at age 62 and waited until age 66, you would 
receive $1,000 a month. If you waited until age 70 to begin receiving benefits you would receive 
$1,300 a month. 
 
Benefits based on a Spouse’s or Ex-Spouse’s Income 
 
If you have a spouse, and you both have reached full retirement age you are eligible to receive social 
security benefits based on your own work record or one-half of your spouse’s benefit whichever is 
higher. You may not receive benefits based on your husband’s work record unless he has applied for 
and is eligible to receive benefits. 
 
The amount is reduced if you are at least 62 years of age and have not reached full retirement age 
yourself. 
 
If you are a divorced spouse, you may be eligible to receive benefits based on your ex-spouse’s record 
if you are over 62, you were married at least ten years, you ex-spouse is eligible to receive benefits and 
you have not remarried. Other rules apply if he is deceased. 
 
Other types of Social Security benefits may be available, if you are disabled and cannot be gainfully 
employed, or are dependents of the major wage-earner in the family, if that person becomes disabled, 
blind or has died. These are referred to as Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and 
Social Security Survivors’ Insurance. 
 
Apply for Social Security through the Social Security Administration. (See VCW’s Resource Directory 
– Aging And Elder Issues section.) 
 

Supplementary Security Income (SSI) 
 
SSI provides a limited monthly cash benefit for low-income individuals (including children) who are 
disabled, blind or 65 years of age or older. If you are found eligible for SSI, there is automatic 
eligibility for Medicaid. 
 

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/aging-and-elder-issues
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If you receive Reach Up benefits, consider whether anyone in the household might qualify for SSI. A 
child is defined as someone under 18 or a student who is under 22. Application for SSI must be made 
through the Social Security Administration. (VCW’s Resource Directory – Aging And Elder Issues 
section.) 
 

Veterans Benefits 
 
Veterans Benefits are available to disabled, blind or older veterans and their children, wives or 
husbands, widows or widowers. Benefits may be available even if the disability is partial or is not 
connected to time in the service. Veterans benefits can include cash benefits as well as health care 
coverage. Apply for benefits at the Veteran’s Administration Center. (See VCW’s Resource Directory – 
Disability and Accessibility Issues section.) 
 

Reach Up Program 
 
Reach Up helps families with children and pregnant women by providing cash assistance for basic 
needs and services that will support work and lead to self-sufficiency. 
 
Eligibility depends on your income, resources, living expenses, family members in your household 
and other factors. Your family may be eligible if you are a single parent, if one parent is disabled or if 
the total income and assets of your family is very low.  If you are found eligible for Reach Up, you and 
your family will most likely be eligible for Medicaid. 
 
Applications for Reach Up are made through the local Economic Services Division of the Department 
for Children and Families. See VCW’s Resource Directory—Public Assistance section. 
 
If you are found eligible for Reach Up you will be assigned a case manager who will assess your 
readiness to work by looking at your skills and abilities, job interests, and training or education. The 
case manager will also look at challenges that make it difficult for you to work (e.g. childcare, 
transportation, health need or personal issues.) 
 
You and your case manager will create a “family development plan” that maps out your goals and 
the steps you will take to achieve them: e.g. looking for a job; getting your GED or high school 
diploma; attending job training; pursuing higher education; and getting on the job training/work 
experience. 
 
To keep your maximum Reach Up benefits, you need to spend a certain number of hours each week 
either working or participating in approved “work activities” that will lead to a job. The number 
of hours you will be required to work, or participate in approved “work activities” will 
depend on your children’s ages and your family situation. However, you may not have to 
work or engage in work activities right away if you have a health problem, you are caring for a very 
young child or childcare is not available. 
 
While Reach Up provides you with benefits and services, you are expected to follow your family 
development pan. If you do not follow your plan, your financial assistance may be greatly 
reduced. 
 
If you have dependent children ages 16 or 17 who are not attending school full time, they are also 
required to receive appropriate support services. 
 

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/aging-and-elder-issues
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/disability-%2526-accessibility-issues
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
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Reach Up cash assistance is deposited monthly directly in your bank account or you will receive your 
cash assistance on an EBT (electronic benefits) card called Vermont Express. 
 
Be aware that even though your family may not qualify for Reach Up benefits, you or members of your 
family may be eligible for Food Stamps, Medicaid, the Vermont Health Access Plan, Dr. Dynasaur or 
other programs. (See later sections in this chapter.) 
 
Reach First 
 
This program provides short-term financial assistance and support services to eligible families in 
emergencies. Families may receive either a lump sum payment or up to four months of assistance 
depending on need. If after four months the family still needs financial assistance they may be 
transferred to the Reach Up program.  Apply for this program through the local Economic Services 
District Office. 
 
Reach Ahead 
 
Reach Ahead is a food assistance program designed to help families transition from welfare to self-
sufficiency. This program also provides support services.  Apply for this program through the local 
Economic Services District Office. 
 
Benefits for Minor Parents 
 
If you are a minor who is pregnant or has given birth, you may only be eligible to receive the full 
Reach Up financial assistance grant if you are an emancipated minor or if you can show that you live 
in supervised settings. (Some exceptions to this may apply.) Approved supervised settings could 
include your parents (whose income is not included in determining Reach Up eligibility), a 
responsible older relative or friend, the father of your child, or another home. Another home is any 
home in which there is a designated caretaker. You are also required to attend school or an 
appropriate alternative education or training program. 
 
Apply for Reach Up benefits through the local Economic Services District Office. (See VCW’s Resource 
Directory—Public Assistance section.) 
 
Postsecondary Education Program (PSE Program) 
 
This program enables parents in low-income families who meet particular financial and other 
eligibility criteria to receive a certain amount of money to live on while they pursue a 2 or 4-year 
undergraduate degree in a field directly related to employment. The general rule is that the 
participating parent is allowed to work up to 20 hours per week when school is in session but 
exceptions can be made.  If you have a spouse who is determined to be able to work, the spouse must 
work to his or her full capacity. 
 
Only one participant per family may be in the program at a time and not everyone who is eligible will 
be accepted into the program since the funding is limited. 
 
Apply for the PSE Program through the Economic Services Division District office. 

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
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3SquaresVT (Formerly Food Stamps) 
 
The 3SquaresVT program helps low-income people buy food, school lunches and breakfasts, and 
assists with phone bills.  If you receive Reach Up, you are eligible, in most cases, for the 
3SquaresVT program. 
 
You may be eligible if: 
 If your gross household income is equal to or less than 185% of the federal poverty level, based on 

household size — regardless of the resources you own. Current income guidelines can be found on 
the 3SquaresVT website. 

 If you have children and get the Vermont Earned Income Tax Credit. 
 If your household includes someone aged 60+ or with a disability — even if your gross household 

income is over 185% of the federal poverty level. However, in this case assets outside of your home 
and retirement accounts are included in determining eligibility. 

 
If you qualify, you are eligible for: 
 Monthly Nutrition Benefits: If you qualify for this program you will receive a plastic card that 

works like a debit card. The monthly benefit is added to the card at the beginning of each month. 
The card can be used at most stores that sell food and some farmers markets. If you are 65 or 
older, or are receiving Supplemental Security Income the money can be deposited directly into 
your bank account.  Able-bodied people who are eligible to receive food stamps, who are 18 to 50 
years old and who do not have minor children can receive food stamps for only 3 months in any 3 
year time period unless they are working or doing “work-related activities.” If a person participates 
in Vermont’s “work for benefits” program 3 days a month, that person could remain eligible for 
food stamps. 

 Free school meals: Under the 3 Squares program your child can have their school lunches paid 
for if the school participates in the federal meals program. You will have to fill out the school 
application form or show them your 3SquaresVT award letter. 

 Help with phone bill: This provides up to $13 of credit toward your monthly phone bill and up 
to $30 to have a phone line installed. 

 
Apply for 3SquaresVT at your local Vermont Economic Services Division District Office. (See VCW’s 
Resource Directory—Public Assistance section.) 
 

Women, Infants and Children (WIC) 
 
WIC is a special supplemental food program for women, infants and children. It provides food 
through home delivery, nutrition and health education, and information about health services. If you 
are a woman who is a Vermont resident, is pregnant or breastfeeding, had a baby in the last 6 months, 
or has a child under 5 years old, you may be eligible for benefits. Although income guidelines apply, 
you can work and still be eligible for WIC. Apply for WIC through the Vermont Department of Health. 
(See VCW’s Resource Directory—Public Assistance section.) 
 

Child Care Subsidies 
 
Child care is expensive. Depending on your income level and your family size you may be eligible for a 
financial assistance program to help you pay for child care for children from birth to age 13. The 
subsidy is paid directly to a qualified child care provider. While financial assistance helps with  

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
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the cost of child care, it typically does not cover the full cost. You are responsible for 
paying for the difference between the subsidy amount and the fee that the child care 
program charges. 
 
In order to qualify for child care assistance, you must be the primary care giver and have a job, be self-
employed, be actively looking for work, attend school or a training program, participate in Reach Up 
or have special health care needs and be unable to provide care for your child. You may also qualify if 
your child has significant health or developmental needs or your family is experiencing significant 
stress in areas such as housing, safety, substance abuse, children’s behavior or parenting issues. 
 
You can use the prescreening tool on the Agency of Human Services, Division for Children and Family 
website to see if you might qualify.  Apply for these benefits and subsidies through your local 
community child care support agency or online at the Bright Futures Information System (See VCW’s 
Resource Directory – Early Care and Education section for links to both resources.)  If you need child 
care to participate in Reach Up activities you can apply through your Reach Up case manager. 
 

Essential Person 
  
This Vermont program aims to keep people, who are 65 or older, blind, or disabled in their homes. 
The program provides funding for someone to live with and provide care for the individual. The 
person receiving the benefit must meet the income requirements and have an essential person. 
 
The “essential person” has to meet all of the following:  
 live in the household; 
 not be eligible for SSI or Reach Up on their own; 
 not receive payment from the Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living (DAIL) 

for providing personal services to the applicant. 
 
The essential person can be any of the following: 
 the spouse of the applicant and be 55 years of age or older; 
 the spouse of the applicant and is under the age of 55 (other additional criteria will have to then be 

met); 
 not a spouse but provides at least one personal care service or homemaker service as defined by 

the Economic Services Division of Department for Children and Families 
 
You should be aware that this program is also available to help your family when your spouse is 
waiting to receive Social Security or SSI benefits. Apply for “essential person” benefits through your 
local Economic Services District Office. (See VCW’s Resource Directory—Public Assistance section.) 
 

General Assistance (GA)/Emergency Assistance (EA) 
 
This state program may provide families a minimal amount towards basic emergency needs such as 
housing, utilities, food, and burials.  Unless there is a crisis (such as death of a spouse or a child, fire, 
flood, hurricane, eviction, or emergency medical need) a person cannot receive assistance unless that 
person has a minor dependent included in their application.  A person may be eligible for GA while 
waiting for a first Reach Up or SSI check. In addition Vermont is now engaged in several pilot 
programs designed to meet the specific needs of applicants and to maximize flexibility depending on 
need and individual circumstances. Apply for benefits through your local Economic Services Division 

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/early-care-and-education
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
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District Office or in some situations, your local Community Action Agency.  (See VCW’s Resource 
Directory—Public Assistance section.) 
 

Emergency Housing 
 
The emergency housing program provides 84 days of temporary housing in any consecutive 12-month 
period for low-income families with children who have exhausted all other housing options, including 
shelters, if the lack of housing is not considered to have been your fault. (Being evicted for non-
payment of rent is NOT considered to be your fault if you simply did not have the 
money.) Other vulnerable populations (e.g. over 60, disabled, emancipated youth, or victims of 
domestic violence) may qualify for up to at least 28 days of temporary housing.  The family must also 
be in immediate danger of losing their home.  Apply for help through your local Economic Services 
District Office. (See VCW’s Resource Directory—Public Assistance section.) 
 

Fuel Assistance 
 
Seasonal Fuel Assistance provides benefits to low-income Vermonters for the purchase of home 
heating fuel (oil, propane, wood, electricity, etc.) 
 
You might be eligible for fuel assistance whether you: 
 Own your home or rent; 
 Pay for your heat directly or it's included in your rent; 
 Rent a room in someone else's home; or 

 Live in public, subsidized, or Section 8 housing AND your rent includes the cost of heat.  
 
The benefits are paid directly to the fuel supplier except in the case of wood or wood pellets where the 
money is given to you. 
 
You must reapply every year. You must apply before November 30th for a full winter’s benefit, or 
before the last day of February for partial benefits. Applications are available at local Economic 
Services District Offices, Community Action agencies, Area Agencies on Aging, or by phoning the 
Office of Home Heating Fuel Assistance (See VCW’s Resource Directory—Public Assistance section.) 
 
Crisis Fuel Assistance for home heating emergencies is available from the last Monday in 
November through the last Friday in April.  Assistance may include minimum delivery of fuel, partial 
payment of a utility bill to prevent service disconnection, furnace repairs or replacements.  Apply for 
assistance through Community Action agencies. If you need assistance after hours, on weekend and 
holidays, there is a statewide emergency hotline 1-800-479-6151. 
 
If you are granted assistance after-hours, you will need to follow up by completing an 
application for Crisis Fuel Assistance at your local Community Action Agency. If you do 
not complete the application, you risk not getting any assistance in the future. 
 (See VCW’s Resource Directory—Public Assistance section.) 
 
Contact your fuel distributor to find out about any assistance programs that they may have. 

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
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Weatherization Assistance

This program helps low-income residents save money on their energy bills by improving home energy 
efficiency. Weatherization services may include assessments of energy problems, a building 
diagnostics, and home upgrades.  A household automatically qualifies if it contains a member receives 
SSI, Reach Up, Food Stamps, or Home Energy Assistance. Otherwise, the home must meet income 
requirements. To apply for the program contact your local Community Action Agency. (See VCW’s 
Resource Directory—Housing and Homeless section for contact information.) 

State-Sponsored Health Insurance Programs 

Vermont Health Connect 

When the federal health care law known as the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA)was 
passed in 2010, each state was given the choice of building its own health insurance marketplace, or 
“exchange”, or letting the federal government build one for it. Vermont opted to build its own: 
Vermont Health Connect (VHC).  VHC is administered by the Department of Vermont Health Access, 
part of the State of Vermont's Agency of Human Services. 

Women stand to benefit considerably from the ACA.  They represent nearly half of the uninsured and 
have unique health care needs, particularly during their reproductive years.  As part of the health care 
law, preventive health care needs for women, like birth control, annual well-women exams and cancer 
screenings, are available for free without a co-pay. And women will no longer have to pay more for 
health insurance than men and can no longer be denied insurance coverage for pre-existing 
conditions like breast cancer, having a C-section or being the victim of domestic violence.  Other 
protections of the ACA include allowing young adults to stay on their parent’s coverage until 26 years 
of age, and insurers cannot impose a lifetime or annual coverage limits on essential benefits. 

Under the ACA’s Individual Mandate provision, almost everyone is required to either have health 
coverage or pay a fee on their following year's taxes.  In 2014, the federal fee is either 1% of yearly 
income or $95 per adult, whichever is higher.  The fee for an uninsured child is $47.50.  The fee 
increases in future years. 

Through VHC, Vermonters can compare health insurance options, enroll in a health plan, and if they 
qualify, secure financial help to pay for care.  Both public health care programs (Medicaid, Dr. 
Dynasaur) and private insurance plans are available.  VHC offers cost and coverage comparisons 
allowing participants to choose plans based on medical needs and financial resources.  Plans are 
categorized into four “metal” levels based on cost structure: bronze, silver, gold, and platinum.  The 
levels vary in the amount of monthly premium versus out-of-pocket costs. 

Who Can Enroll 

VHC is for Vermonters who do not have health insurance; who purchase insurance for themselves; 
who are offered “unaffordable” coverage by their employers; who have Medicaid or Dr. Dynasaur; and 
for small businesses with up to 50 full time employees. Those who were enrolled in Catamount or 
Vermont Health Access Program (VHAP) became eligible for expanded Medicaid or private insurance 
with subsidies to help pay for the cost of coverage through VHC.  

Medicare coverage stays the same and is not affected by VHC, but as part of the ACA, Medicare 

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/Housing-and-Homelessness
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enrollees who reach the drug coverage “donut hole” get rebates while the hole is slowly closed (by 
2020). Additionally, Medicare now covers certain preventive services, like 
mammograms, colonoscopies and free yearly wellness visits. 
 
Services Covered 
 
The Affordable Care Act mandates 10 essential services to be covered by every insurance plan through 
VHC: 
 
Preventive and wellness services and chronic disease management 
 
Prescription drugs 
 
Emergency services 
 
Hospitalization (such as surgery) 
 
Laboratory services 
 
Ambulatory patient services (outpatient care) 
 
Maternity and newborn care 
 
Mental health and substance use disorder services, including behavioral health treatment 
 
Rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices (services and devices to help people with injuries, 
disabilities, or chronic conditions to gain or recover mental and physical skills) 
 
Pediatric services 
 
Coverage for Women’s Health Care 
 
In addition, all VHC plans must cover the following health services for women without charging a 
copayment, coinsurance, or deductible when the services are provided by an in-network provider: 
 
Well-woman visits for women under 65.  Visits include a full checkup, vaccinations, screenings and 
tests and education and counseling 
 
Osteoporosis screening for women over age 60 depending on risk factors 
 
Domestic and interpersonal violence screening and counseling for all women 
 
Sexually transmitted infections counseling for sexually active women 
 
Folic Acid supplements for women who may become pregnant 
 
Breast Cancer Genetic Test Counseling (BRCA) for women at higher risk for breast cancer 
 
Breast cancer mammography screenings every 1 to 2 years for women over 40 
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Breast cancer chemoprevention counseling for women at higher risk 
 
Cervical cancer screening for sexually active women 
 
Chlamydia infection screening for younger women and other women at higher risk 
 
Gonorrhea screening for all women at higher risk 
 
HIV screening and counseling for sexually active women 
 
Human Papillomavirus (HPV) DNA test every 3 years for women with normal cytology results who 
are 30 or older 
 
Syphilis screening for all pregnant women or other women at increased risk 
 
Tobacco use screening and interventions for all women, and expanded counseling for pregnant 
tobacco users 
 
For pregnant women:  
Anemia screening on a routine basis  
 
Comprehensive breastfeeding support and counseling from trained providers 
 
Access to breastfeeding supplies 
 
Gestational diabetes screening for women 24 to 28 weeks pregnant and those at high risk of 
developing gestational diabetes 
 
Hepatitis B screening for pregnant women at their first prenatal visit 
 
Syphilis screening for all pregnant women 
 
Rh Incompatibility screening for all pregnant women and follow-up testing for women at higher risk 
 
Urinary tract or other infection screening for pregnant women 
 
Contraception: 
All Food and Drug Administration-approved contraceptive methods prescribed by a woman’s doctor 
are covered, including: 
 
Barrier methods (used during intercourse), like diaphragms and sponges 
 
Hormonal methods, like birth control pills and vaginal rings 
 
Implanted devices, like intrauterine devices (IUDs) 
 
Emergency contraception, like Plan B® and ella® 
 
Sterilization procedures 
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Patient education and counseling 
 
Plans aren’t required to cover drugs to induce abortions or services related to a man’s reproductive 
capacity, like vasectomies. 
 
Health plans sponsored by certain exempt “religious employers,” like churches and other houses of 
worship, are not required to cover contraceptive methods and counseling. If you work for an exempt 
religious employer and use contraceptive services, you may have to pay for them out-of-pocket. 
Contact your employer or benefits administrator for more information.  
 
Some nonprofit religious organizations (like nonprofit religious hospitals and institutions of higher 
education that certify they have religious objections to contraceptive coverage) are not required to 
contract, arrange, pay, or refer for contraceptive coverage.  If your health plan is sponsored or 
arranged by this type of organization, an insurer or third party administrator will make separate 
payments for contraceptive services that you use. You’ll have access to contraceptive services without 
a copayment, coinsurance, or deductible when they are provided by an in-network provider. Contact 
your employer or health plan for more information. 
 
Abortion 
 
All plans under VHC cover abortion services.  There is no requirement in the Patient Protection and 
Affordable Care Act that health care plans cover abortion, nor is there a prohibition preventing plans 
from covering abortion. Rather, ACA gives health care plans participating in state exchanges the 
ability to determine whether or not to cover abortion services.  However, the Act explicitly allows 
states to pass a law to ban abortion coverage in any exchange established in the state. In 2010, five 
states enacted such laws. Vermont did not enacting such a law, often referred to as the Nelson 
Amendment. Absent a state law to the contrary, health care plans inside the exchanges in each state 
decide whether to cover abortion. Health care plans in those state exchanges can choose to cover all 
abortion services, some abortion services, or no abortion services.  
 
Under AHC, abortion services are considered outpatient hospital services. This means that 
individuals will have part of that service covered, depending on the plan they choose.  For questions 
about particular abortion services and reimbursement rates, please contact the exchange’s insurance 
carriers directly.  
 
Blue Cross Blue Shield: (800) 255–4550, bcbsvt.com  
MVP: (802) 264-6537, discovermvp.com 
 
 
Other Benefits and For More Information 
  
Learn more about VHC: (toll-free) 1-855-899-9600, VermontHealthConnect.gov 
 
To learn more about Medicare coverage and choices, visit Medicare.gov. 
 
Plan eligibility and cost is based on household size and income.  See VCW’s Resource Directory—
Women’s Health section a link to its website where there is a screening tool that will help you see 
which programs you and your family are eligible for.  
 

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/health
www.bcbsvt.com
www.discovermvp.com
www.VermontHealthConnect.gov
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Disability and Long-Term Care 

Vermonters who need long-term care services either in their home or a nursing facility may qualify for 
financial assistance through the Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living (DAIL). 
 
Choices for Care is a Medicaid-funded, long-term care program to pay for care and support for 
older Vermonters and people with physical disabilities. The program assists people with everyday 
activities at home, in an approved residential care setting, or in an approved nursing facility. 
To be eligible for Choices for Care, you must: 
 be a Vermont resident; 
 be 65 years of age or older or 18 years of age with a physical disability; 
 meet specific clinical criteria; 
 meet financial criteria for Vermont Long-Term Care Medicaid. 
 
Support includes hands-on assistance with eating, bathing, toilet use, dressing, and transferring from 
bed to chair; assistance with tasks such as meal preparation, household chores, medication 
management and increasing or maintaining independence. 
 
A second program is for Moderate Needs individuals who need minimal assistance to remain at home. 
This program offers limited case management, adult day services, and/or homemaker service. 
 
A separate eligibility criteria exists for Moderate Needs individuals. Information regarding program 
eligibility and service availability can be obtained directly from the Adult Day Centers or Home Health 
Agencies in your area. (See VCW’s Resource Directory – Aging And Elder Issues section.) 
 

Free and Low Cost Medical/Dental Care 
 
If you do not have health insurance, or have high deductibles or co-pays, you may be eligible to 
receive medical and/or dental care services from one of the federally qualified health care centers 
(FQHC’s) located throughout Vermont. These centers provide health care services regardless of your 
ability to pay. If you do not have insurance they provide services for free or on a sliding fee scale 
depending on your family income. (See VCW’s Resource Directory—Women’s Health section for a link 
to a list of these clinics.) 
 
Vermont also has a number of free primary care clinics and dental clinics located throughout the 
state. Your household income must be below 200% of poverty to receive free services. (See VCW’s 
Resource Directory—Women’s Health section for a list of clinics that belong to the Vermont Coalition 
of Clinics for the Uninsured.) 
 

Medicare 
 
This federal government program helps pay medical bills for people over 65 years of age, or people 
who have received Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits for at least two years, or people 
who have end stage-Renal disease.  Apply for Medicare through the Social Security Administration. 
(See VCW’s Resource Directory – Aging And Elder Issues section.)  See the Insurance chapter of The 
Legal Rights of Women for a full description of the federal Medicare Program. 
 

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/health
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/health
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/aging-and-elder-issues
http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/aging-and-elder-issues
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Supplemental Medicare policies often called “medigap” plans and managed care plans called 
Medicare Advantage or Part C plans are also available from private insurance companies to help pay 
for medical expenses not covered by Medicare. 
 

HIV Insurance Assistance  
 
Living with HIV is much different now than it was in the early 1990s. For many people, new 
treatments and aggressive therapies have substantially slowed the progression of HIV to AIDS. That 
does not mean that living with HIV/AIDS is not a challenge, but it does not have to be overwhelming. 
 
Vermont has an extensive network of AIDS services organizations (ASOs) and HIV-specific clinics for 
medical care around the state. The Vermont Department of Health also provides several programs 
that may be extremely helpful. 
 
Early Intervention program: If you just learned you are HIV+, this program can help by paying 
for your initial doctor’s visits and for medical tests that will give you a baseline of information about 
your current health. Any physician throughout Vermont can charge the program for costs related to 
these tests, so you will not be faced with large medical bills while also deciding what actions to take in 
making treatment choices. 
 
Tests include screenings for viral load to help you determine what your best treatment options are. 
You can also be tested for Hepatitis and TB and be immunized to prevent the flu and pneumonia at 
the same time. If you are a woman, you may also request a Pap Test and a pregnancy test during your 
doctor visit. 
 
HIV Insurance Continuation Assistance Program (ICAP): This program is designed to pay 
the insurance premiums for eligible individuals who, because of HIV/AIDS-related illness, are unable 
to continue working or who have had to reduce their hours of employment and are at risk of losing 
their existing health insurance coverage. 
 
HIV/AIDS Medication Assistance Program (AMAP): The HIV/AIDS Medication Assistance 
Program provides financial assistance for the purchase of prescription medications to Vermonters 
living with HIV disease who meet certain income guidelines. If you are eligible, this program will help 
pay for your treatment drugs whether or not you have private insurance. 
 
HIV Dental Care Assistance Program (DCAP): This program provides free dental assessments 
and offers additional preventative care, including cleanings and basic restorative treatments such as 
fillings. As with the Early Intervention Program, any licensed practitioner in Vermont can access this 
fund on your behalf. 

(See VCW’s Resource Directory—Women’s Health section for a complete list of phone number and 
websites that provide HIV/AIDS information and supportive services.) 

Lifeline 
 
This Vermont program entitles low-income Vermonters up to a $13 reduction in their monthly 
telephone bill. If you are eligible for other government benefits, you may automatically qualify for this 
program.  Eligibility is also based on income criteria that may change from year to year. 
 

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/health
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There is also a program called Link Up. This program will pay up to $30 for installation of a phone 
line.  If you qualify for Lifeline you automatically qualify for Link Up. 

The Department for Children and Families website has a complete description of these two programs 
and how to apply for them. 

Denials, Reductions or Terminations of Governmental 
Benefits

If you are denied governmental benefits, or have been notified that your benefits are 
going to be reduced or terminated, you have the right to appeal that decision. Make sure 
you ask the agency administering the particular program about your appeal rights, and how much 
time you have to appeal. 

If it is a state-administered program, you will probably have your case heard at a fair hearing by a 
Hearing Officer from the Human Services Board. Appeals from fair hearings go to the Human 
Services Board and then to the Vermont Supreme Court. If it is a federally-administered program, you 
may have the case heard at an administrative hearing in front of an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). 
Appeals from a decision by an ALJ are taken to federal court. 

File appeals from Social Security decisions through your local Social Security office. (See VCW’s 
Resource Directory-Public Assistance section for the Social Security office nearest you.) 

Relevant Laws 

Vermont: 

Emancipated Minor, 12 V.S.A. § 7151 
Employer-Sponsored Insurance, 33 V.S.A. § 1974 
Emergency Housing, 33 V.S.A. § 2114 
Home Heating Assistance, 33 V.S.A. § 2603 
Home Weatherization Assistance, 33 V.S.A. § 2502 
General Assistance/ Emergency Assistance, 33 V.S.A. 2103 
Postsecondary Education, 33 V.S.A. § 1122   
Reach Ahead, 33 V.S.A. § 1203 
Reach First, 33 V.S.A. § 1003 
Reach Up, 33 V.S.A. § 1103 
Vermont-Rx, 33 V.S.A. § 2074 

Last modified  12-24/13-LT 

Vermont Health Benefit Exchange, 33 V.S.A. § 1803

http://women.vermont.gov/resource-directory/public-assistance
http://www.leg.state.vt.us/StatutesMain.cfm



